New to beardeds :-)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
I am very new to bearded dragons, and am very glad to have found this forum! I have poked around a bit and there are tons of topics with tons of threads - will take me forever to read it all :) So I apologize if I ask things that have already been discussed...

Before getting this lil guy, I did a bunch of research on the internet, and thought I was quite informed -- but now that I have him, it seems a whole new ball game (nb: I use 'him' rather loosely - not sure if its a he or she yet)

Hopefully some kind soul(s) will share their knowledge so that I can raise him proper...first let me tell you a bit about 'him'!

I've had him for a week now.
the pet store told me he was about 2 months old
he is about 4 1/2 inches long - i'm guessing here - he's so squirmy its hard to measure him :)
tank temperature: basking area about 92, cools down to 70 at night.

One of my concerns is that he doesnt seem to eat as much as it seems he should? I understand he should eat a few crickets a couple times a day? This guy only eats 2-3 every second day!!!! aaahh!
I've read that they should be fed outside of thier home, as crickets should not be left in the tank with the bearded. So I take him out and put him in a bucket with the crickets. He is usually pretty un-interested in the crickets :-(

I have salad in his tank for him also - but haven't seen him eat it at all - wtih the exception of a piece of dandilion leaf I hand fed him...
I
Currently he is in a 20 gal. tank - which I know will need to be upgraded very soon - plan on doing that in the next couple of weeks.
The tank has sand on the bottom -- the pet store has all thiers in sand, and assure me that this is fine for him. BUT - I've read a few posts and am now panicking that this may NOT be good for him! I have the paper shredder ready - do I need to get rid of the sand???