New Beardies

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone! So I am totally new to the beardie club. I purchased my first one last weekend, he/she is around 2 months old. We named him Balerion (my daughter is convinced it's a male). Well when we went to get some fresh crickets we saw a female about 8 months old, who has been taken in from poor conditions and had part of her tail nipped off. We house them completely separately.
We got her yesterday and she seems happy. She loves to be stroked and falls asleep instantly. However, I have noticed that she likes to flare her beArd without color. Is this a sign of aggression? She makes me nervous, as I stroking her this morning she must've not liked the way I was stroking her because she jerked really quick and startled me.

I put her back in her tank, fed her. She seemed fine a few hours later and I got her back out to try and form a bond with her. All was well. Then all of a sudden she hops off the pillow and runs to the edge of the bed and without hesitation jumped straight off onto my hardwood floors.

I put her back in the tank after checking for injuries, and she seems ok. But her beard is flared again. Any advice?

vulcan2016

Hatchling Member
It'shard to say they will flare their beearsfor any reason iIwould say give it a little time and let her get used to you and when you have her out keep her close to or on the floor

HeraTargaryen

Original Poster
Since these are my first, I seem to feel more relaxed around my baby than my juvie.
She doesn't scare me, she just makes me a little anxious because I don't know what type of situation she came from.
I've read that you should leave them in their tanks for the first week to let them acclimate to their new homes. Should I be doing that?

vulcan2016

Hatchling Member