New beardie questions!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ParkerandMe

Hatchling Member
Hi all! I'm Claire, and I will be getting my first bearded dragon in August! I'm so excited!!! I've been researching these guys for going on 4 months, and as you all probably know, there are a load of contradicting opinions out there on everything that has to do with bd care. Since you guys have a lot of personal experience, I thought this would be a great place to go.
A Brief Intro
I have always loved animals and currently have a chocolate German Shorthaired Pointer. We moved recently and found an awesome all-reptile shop called Curious Creatures LLC (just letting you know, I had wanted a bearded dragon prior to this). I fell in love with a little 5-6 inch leatherback with orange-ish bars and put a deposit on him. From what I've seen from Curious Creatures, he is pretty active and likes to fall asleep in my hand which I find adorable.

As you all know, there are a crazy amount of contradicting opinions on BD care. I have about a billion questions :D. Thanks for your help!
1. What are your daytime temps for your cage. (Basking spot, hot side, cool side)
2. What thermometer/probe would you recommend to keep track of temps?
3. Would it be possible for me to put in a cardboard divider or something similar in the adult cage while Norbert is a baby?
4. For his adult cage I was thinking one of the large and low Exoterras with the front opening doors or one of the larger ones my pet store carries. What size do you use?
5. How long did your beardie take to adjust after you got them? (Mine will not be shipped, just a short car ride, so he might be a bit less stressed than if he was shipped)
6. On a lot of websites they say to feed some foods, like raspberries, occasionally. How often is occasionally?
7. How long should I wait to handle my beardie after I get him?
8. How do I put in images on the forum? I would like to attach a pic of Norbert and I don't know how! :lol: