New Beardie Owner and Onimizu!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello! I'm new to having a bearded dragon and I felt it was a good idea to join a forum all about them, especially because my father likes to think he's an expert in reptiles (my father rescues snakes) but he often does things I strongly disagree with. I got my beardie by way of a coworker who was giving her red tail boa to my father and I for free. She didn't want to deal with the snake and when I went to pick up the boa, I discovered she had the beardie and she also was quick to push the beardie on to me (for free). Guys, she swears she's had this beardie for 5-7 years but he is SMALL. He looks juvenile and the tank he was in had NO ROOM for him to move around in. There was no heating element except a heat rock in the corner and no water bowl at all. When I asked when he last had crickets, she answered "about three weeks."

I named him Onimizu which means Water Demon in Japanese. My little brother and I found it funny because when we got his new tank set up he immediately flopped himself into the water dish we put in there and didn't want to attempt getting out. So it's meant to be ironic since beardies are desert creatures and the name would be aptly suited to a Chinese Water Dragon instead.

Here's a photo. I'll likely post to a different board asking about his size and if there's any way to encourage growth or if I've got a runt adult forever.

17626564_1030043987096760_1657713193687485677_n.jpg

Gormagon

Extreme Poster
Welcome to the wonderful world of bearded dragons, a land of mystery, enchantment, cuddles, love and, worry! A magical realm where things always seem to change in an instant and, the moment you think you have it all figured out, the rules change! You think you own your dragon?, Ha Ha....guess again..... Like it or not, you are now a slave, lol!