Nail Loss and Growth issue!!! Help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
I am relatively new to the Beardie world I was basically raised an animal. We had everything from dogs to cats, hedgehogs to shrews, snakes to geckos growing up we like to call our house a small zoo. Well this past summer I kinda bought 2 beardies on a whime. We have never owned beardies so it was a first time deal.
I bought my males back in August. I'm really not sure how old they are, I am sure that they've grown 3x their size since I've gotten them though. Well I have them in the same tank....YES I know they are getting separated today actually! They do get along pretty well though for males. But still they are being separtated anyhow. Which brings me to my first question. I noticed a couple weeks ago, one of my boys lost a nail on his front "hand". Couple days ago I noticed that he lost another one on his back "hand' too. Is this normal? I sure hope so, cuz I brought them to the vet a couple months ago and he said they are in great shape.
Next question. I feel in love with my boys so much that back in December I went and bought myself 2 females. Well i guess I'm just concerned because when I bought my girls one was so much larger that the other one. Now the smaller one is twice the size of the one that was bigger than her when I origanally bought them. Is this something to be concerned about. They both have awesome appetites, both eat well. Could it be that they just have different growth rates?
Hope you can help...THANKS
Jaime

Grommet

Hatchling Member
Wow, that is odd about the nail loss. Is there anything in their tank that your beardie could have gotten their toe caught on? A stick with holes, or a netted material? The only other reason I can think of is if they weren't getting enough calcium.... When was the last time you replaced their UVB tube and what kind of calcium do you dust with?