my male beardie wont eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

FLITCH

hi everybody
i am new at this but a friend of mine recommended this forum to me to get some good advice. i have 2 beardies called sid and nancy - a leopard gecko called bruce - and a everglades rat snake called sheamus. one of my daughters got a tortoise and the other one has got a armedillo girdled lizard. my worry is my male beardie sid. about 6 weeks ago my female beardie laid 24 eggs successfully and they where incubated my supplier who is a breeder of all kinds of reptiles and has a shop. obviously i have had my beardies seperated for some time now. about 8 to nine weeks and the female is doing realy well. eating,basking,playing with me and she had a good shed. the problem with my male is this, he does not eat very well at all and is not interested in anything. the reptile shop told me that he would do this because he is feeling sorry for himself but i am getting worried now. has anybody got some advise for me to make him feel better? he has not lost loads of weight and still got his muscle tone. please give me some ideas. thank you for listening.

shadi11

BD.org Addict
so they have only been seperated 8 weeks.. has he been doing this since? its a bit long for relocation stress.. have you changed anything else? has he had a fecal?
Do you have a uvb light? what kind? what are your temps? how do you measure? what substrate do you use.
this would give us a good starting point

FLITCH

Original Poster
thank you for answering so quick. i have set up a complete replica viv for the male so he is in exactly the same invironment as he was in before. the viv is 4foot by 2foot by 2 foot , he has a basking light. ceramic. and an 8.0 uvb full spectrum running along the lenght of the viv. all my reptiles lights and heaters are on timers and thermostats. i know that there is nothing wrong with the set up as i have carefully replicated it for him and he was great before the split up.

shadi11