My Girl is about to lay eggs!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mila

So, I know I didn't listen and I kept my beardies together in 1 tank and they seem to have mated. I saw my male (Gus) mount the female (Finneus) and bite into her neck and I got so scared, I tried to separate them to no avail and now I'm pretty sure that she's gravid. I'm just so worried because she's too young to lay eggs (13 months) and I don't want to her die but I'm a Grad Student living in manhattan with limited funds and just can't take her to the vet. I am separating the dragons and trading the male for a female so that I will have 2 females in the tank together so that my male can procreate and be happy elsewhere. I've been doing everything right (proper diet, proper lighting, proper substrate), and I've been so attentive to them, but now I'm just afraid because I keep placing Fin into a bin with sand and she keeps jumping out; she cannot get comfortable no matter where I place her; she absolutely refuses to stay in the tank and she hasn't eaten in 2 days. I hold her and stay with her when I'm home, but Grad School is like a full time job and often no one is home to look after them. I know she's about to lay the eggs I'm just wondering what I can do to ensure her safety. Thanks

Drache613

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hello,

Well, that is too bad. How old is she? Maybe she is not gravid, you think? Is she showing yet?
I do understand grad school, I have done it & yes it is a full time job for sure.
Do you have any lighting setup for her? If she is getting ready to lay she wont be very hungry, but it is important to keep her hydrated though. You will need to make a laybox for her, though to where she is more comfortable for laying.
Is her beard black at all right now?