My experiences with corporate pet stores (PETCO, PETsMART)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CalBears

First off, let me start by saying that I have lived in California and recently moved to Florida. I have shopped at PETCO and PETsMART at many different locations. I have a bachelor's in Animal Biology from UC Berkeley and I LOVE animals. I'm in school again taking some more courses before I apply to the University of Florida's vet school. I want to be an exotic animals vet.

Now, down to business. A lot of you complain about the bad conditions that you see at your local PETCO and PETsMART stores and there are some petitions floating around about this. Well, here is my experience with PETCO and PETsMART.

I have purchased quite a few animals from them. I am not going to say that I "rescued" them from the stores like a few of you say you did. I feel like some of you really liked the animal, but are ashamed to say that you purchased it from PETCO or PETsMART because of the way they are perceived as "bad."

I purchased the following from PETsMART at different locations:

- 3 Red Eyed Tree Frogs (2 in one location, 1 in another)
- 1 Crested Gecko (Ocala, FL)
- 2 Pictus Geckos (Culver City, CA)
- 1 Gold Tree Frog (Torrance, CA)
- 1 Leopard Gecko (Gainesville, FL)
- 1 Crocodile Gecko (Downey, CA)
- 1 Bearded Dragon (Gainesville, FL)
- 1 Dumpy Tree Frog (Jacksonville, FL)