Meet my beardie c: (+ some newbie Q's)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashen

Hi!
I'm kind of new to all this bearded dragon stuff, and got my beardie about 2 weeks ago :D
I was going to get him near christmas but I ended up getting him a little early but I HAVE NO REGRETS!
This is him:
bHaLGpr.jpg

iNhQBp5.jpg

oahZGp0.jpg

QjEKVWd.jpg

n0GTWlf.jpg

dEYsXoE.jpg

(sorry for the pic overload)
I'm still a little confused on their behaviour and all that, so I have a few noob questions and some others concerning the health of my beardie, but before I begin I'll give some info:
So I got him from a really good reptile shop in town and got all/most of the supplies from there. His current tank setup consists of:
-Climbing decorations (like logs and branches)
-A hide (which he doesn't like and instead prefers to climb on top of it)
-shallow food dish
-One of those Arcadia UVB lights which goes nearly the whole length of the viv
-a basking light with Habistat which sets the temperatures up to 120 degrees i think
His current substrate is newspaper because i cant find anywhere that sells rough ceramic tiles that fit wide enough.
I don't really know much about my beardie, I don't really know his age but he is around 13" and weighs 114g.
So here are some Q's
How much is he actually supposed to eat for his age? I feed him about 18 locusts in the late morning and feed him another 5-10 in the afternoon if he ate all the others from the morning. (along with veggies)

He has just recovered from having a limp on his front left leg but he walks on it a little funny... like he walks on his wrist instead of his "hand" (or foot, i don't know what the term is). Is this something I should be worried about?

How often should I bath him?

What kind of dragon is he? Like i've heard all these terms about "hypos" and "translucent" and I kind of want to know what he is.

How old do you think he is? He's 114g and around 13" from nose to tail.

Thanks! c:

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko