Male Beardie Not Eating And Sleeping During The Day! Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wazfra

Okay, so I've had my male beardie for almost 2 weeks now. I'm pretty new to this so all help is appreciated and any experience you have shared.
In the past week and a bit he hasn't eaten anything. I put fresh greens down every day and always provide a good mixture. I feed him on Locusts and Crickets every other day and the occasional wax worm yet he just sticks his tongue out at it and turns away. My female is a lot smaller and would put him to shame with the amount that she eats. It's leading to him being very lathargic and tired. He sleeps from about 3pm onwards (although I do take him out after this to let him run around and he seems a little more lively). He doesn't deficate a lot either (probably due to the fact that he's not eating much).
Now, the guy I bought him from told me that when he's shedding he doesn't eat a lot but he's not eating anything. He's in the final stages of shedding, (just 2 patches to come off that are quite loose at the moment) should I wait until he's fully shed before I have to take him to the vet? I took him before a few days after buying him for a quick check up and he absolutely hated it. He bearded at me and the vet and bearded again when I got him home. I really don't want to stress him out uneccessarily again.
I'm from Northern Ireland so I doubt he's in brumation (that and it's summer!)
He seems to perk up a lot when I put him with my female but that's obviously gonna happen. I'm at a loss as to what it may be.
His viv his very good. It's a 3ftx2ftx2ft Penine with a thermostat and ceramic heat emitter. I use a 10 UV Bulb (Repti-Sun) and a 80 watt household bulb. The UV bulb is about 45 cm away from him. I have a wood chipped terrain, large water bowl and feeding bowl, large basking rock and large wooden climbing frame for him as well as artificial greenery for him to hide in.