I just bought my first beardie and have questions, please he

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey, I bought a beardie two days ago at a local pet store. I didn't measure him/her but I believe that it is like 5 or 6 inches long. I had already had an albino leopard gecko, which was my first reptile, but I have no experience with bearded dragons. I'm only using a 10 gallon tank at the moment until he outgrows it, but I can't seem to find a UVB light fixture small enough for it. It won't fit on top of it with the basking light at the same time. Also, he won't eat any fruits or vegetables. Is this a problem? One more question: Am I able to use sand for it while it's small, I mean, the calcium sand is digestible, right? I have no idea, thanks haha.

DistDrag

Juvie Member
I think your going to have a problem finding a UV light for that small of a tank. Even if you have one that hangs over the sites, it's going to be hard to have a basking lamp too. The mercury vapor bulbs that work as both a heat source and UV source are too strong for such a small enclosure. You may just have to get a bigger enclosure sooner rather than later.

As for eating vegetables, it's not uncommon for dragons the size of your to not eat them. Just keep offering them and they eventually start to eat them. Chop them up pretty good for a dragon this size and I'd recommend trying collard greens, green mustard, and butternut squash. All my dragons like these.

Congrats on the new beardie!

Kevin

Lucian823