How Can I Handle My Dragon?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I have looked for posts similiar to the issues I am having, but was having a hard time finding things that were helpful. So excuse me if I am posting something redundant, if there is another topic that would benefit me to read, please point me to it, if you could. :)

I am new to having a Dragon, and certainly a baby Dragon, I kind of wanted to start out with a baby because I felt it would give me the opportunity to build a bond earlier. Plus it would allow me to hopefully have a longer life span with him.

I love Bearded Dragons, but I do have this underlying fear of being bit, even with my dragon Saber, I still have this fear, I have been overcoming it little by little, but I am afraid I am not doing enough? Or that we should be closer than we are. I have only had him since May, so I know he is still getting used to me, and learning to not be afraid of me.

I think he likes me, but I can't really tell. I think he knows his name and likes it when I come around to talk to him.

My biggest fear is that I read that they dislike being in their enclosues, that they like to be out and social. I would love to get to that point with him. Some mornings when I am sleeping, he is clawing at the glass, and I was wondering if it is because he wants out? I don't want him to be isolated, lonely, or bored.

I still have a fear of him biting me, are there some helpful tips of getting past this? I handle him in his enclosure, I pick him up and hold him in there and talk to him until he jumps off. I try to do this at least once everyday, but most days it is two to three times. I have also handled him while giving him all of his baths, but that is the extent we are at right now.