How big of a basking light?

Kassgnelson143

Original Poster
Beardie name(s)
Mango
Hello,
I am new to owning a beardie but we recently purchased one and she is in a 120 gallon tank. I have noticed that the basking light I have does not get it hot enough on her warm side. It’s only 85 degrees. How big and what type of light do I need for a tank this big to get it up to temperature?
Thanks!

Hazelthebeardeddragon

Juvie Member
Beardie name(s)
Hazel
Hello,
I am new to owning a beardie but we recently purchased one and she is in a 120 gallon tank. I have noticed that the basking light I have does not get it hot enough on her warm side. It’s only 85 degrees. How big and what type of light do I need for a tank this big to get it up to temperature?
Thanks!
Most time you need a 150W bulbs The flukers is good for that. Just get a bulb that fits the hood and fits the hood wattage. The picture below is mine

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    57.4 KB · Views: 54

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
Hello,
Thanks!
You need a digital probe thermometer to get accurate surface basking temps - place the probe directly under the lamp where he sits for basking 10 minutes or so get the temp

hdochow

Sub-Adult Member
Photo Comp Winner
Beardie name(s)
Sir Henry of Scales
it is going to depend on what type of top your enclosure has too. i have a solid top so only require a 50 W to reach proper basking temps. but as karrieree mentioned, you really need a digital probe thermometer to determine your temps. dial/analogs are inaccurate at best, and IR guns can be off depending on what material you are reading the temp off of.

Hazelthebeardeddragon

Juvie Member
Beardie name(s)
Hazel