Hi - newbie here ...

k8s

Beardie name(s)
Blue Dragao
I fell in love Christmas Eve and brought home a Bearded Dragon (still no-name) from an adoption event put on by a reptile rescue ... thank you Aunt Annas Reptile Rescue in Walnut Creek, California!! I have been overwhelmed by all the kindness and wonderful (mostly!) advice I've received. I'm beginning to feel I have a handle on most of what I need, but am now just terrified that my poor little guy will never bond with me. He's about 10 months old and about 12" head to tip of tail. There will be lots of questions to come and asking for warm thoughts being sent our way.

Attachments

• 1st portrait.jpg
    1st portrait.jpg
    247.9 KB · Views: 49

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Welcome!

The best thing you can do for your little guy is invest some time here reading through the threads to get a grasp on proper care. Of course, if you have questions, feel free to ask :)

We love pictures here... ;)

-Brandon

hdochow

Sub-Adult Member
Photo Comp Winner
Beardie name(s)
Sir Henry of Scales
welcome to the forum and the life of being a beardie owner! looking at your profile, you're off to a great start. your uvb is good, although it may need to be changed depending on how old the bulb is. you will need a couple of digital probe thermometers. the type you mentioned are inadequate. because of how you are reading, your temps are probably off. lights and temp are the most critical things for your dragon's health. you're going to want to remove that red bulb and get a bright white basking bulb. i'll post some links for the probes, the basking bulb i use (although wattage will depend on the environment you have your enclosure in), a link for types of fresh food, and one that lists vets that you can search for by your area. you'll want to provide salads every day. what types of insects are you feeding? and what type of supplements are you providing?