Help, Rex will not eat and not growing!

Status
Not open for further replies.
HI

Rex is over a year old and has not been eating lately, he normally eats 4-5 large male roaches a day along with some greens a little a week. Do to my daughters medical condition Rex has been neglected a little and need to fix that. He has not eaten any roaches in over a week and not sure if he has eaten any greens. His color on his head does not look good but i am not an expert. I am not sure what I can do to get him to eat and how to get him better. He has not shed for over 4-5 months so I am not sure if he is not growing do to health reasons or what the deal is. His cage is tiled in 12x12 tiles for an idea of how big he is. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Brandon

DSCN0114.jpg

DSCN0113.jpg

DSCN0115.jpg

DSCN0116.jpg

DSCN0117.jpg

DSCN0118.jpg

kimmyk

Juvie Member
I'm not an expert in any way, but his head looks like he is going into a shed. In my experiences with Beardie, his appetite all but disappears when going through a shed. It wouldn't hurt to get him checked out, but if he's acting ok and staying hydrated, I'd give him a little more time and see if he starts to shed.

jolleys136

Original Poster
he has been that color for a few months? He is also lethargic and every time I see him he is always just laying down and not very active. We have had some power outages that keep messing up his timer on the lights also so I am not sure if that messed him up as well. I am just concerned cause he goes weeks without eating anything.

thanks
Brandon

jolleys136

Original Poster
I gave him a bath last night and he stuck almost his entire head under water and was drinking for like 2 min and did that twice.
He was probably a bit thirsty, I keep a water dish in his home but not sure if he drinks out of it. Are you saying I should take him
to the vet because he is not eating or from the way he looks?

thanks
Brandon

diamc

BD.org Sicko
Staff member