HELP! Not sure about this behavior

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay, so I am fairly new to having a bearded dragon from a young age. I have had Yoda since the beginning of September. He has always been very active and loves to bask a lot. I recently moved Yoda to my classroom as a class pet and he has seemed to do well. I bring him home over the weekend so he still receives attention. Today, when I came to my classroom, he seemed fine, but I noticed his eyes seemed to be cracked open, as if he were tired. He ended up going under his rock hide for about an hour or so. He remained alert with his head up the entire time and his eyes also seemed to "wake up". When he came out, his color was bright like usual, but he has been "perched" in a standing position on his log almost all day (his log is close to but not right under a cool side heat lamp and under his uvb lamp). Again, he still looks to be alert and holds his head up. He responds when you approach the tank by looking up at you or turning his head to look at you. It just freaked me out when he hid for so long in the morning and appeared "tired". The past several days before this, I have noticed him gaping a lot when under his basking lamp. I have seen both positive and negative remarks about this. Some people say it's normal and they are "sweating", but others say they are not supposed to. He doesn't have any other "signs" of a respiratory disease. I just want to make sure he is okay and I am not being too much of a "worry wart". His hide rock is under his warm side heat lamp, where he usually spends a lot of time basking. His "normal" movement that I see consists of long amounts of time under the basking lamp on his rock, running up and down the tank, and "perching" on his log in between everything else. He also has a hammock on the cool side that he will go on every now and then. Any help would be MUCH appreciated!

aepstein