Hello! Newbie Here! With a question....

Status
Not open for further replies.

littledragon

Juvie Member
*waves bd style lol* I'm a new beardie owner. My baby is about a month and a half old, and he's got some orange and red spots along his back and head. His daddy was mostly brown with a red face, and his momma was a yellowish color.

Any idea what color he might turn out to be? Is there any tricks that will help the oranges come out more as he grows? I've heard lots of sunlight helps. ((NOT UV bulbs, real sun)) Or what about the colors of his environment?

Also, I've been reading some posts, and most say that the temp of the "hot spot" of the tank should be over 100 degrees. Mine is usually around 95. I take the tank outside to let him sun, and if it gets any hotter than 100, he hides in the shade. Should I keep the temp where it's at or go higher?

If you've got any answers, or any advice on how to raise my baby well, post away! Thanks!!!

K13y

Hatchling Member
Hi! I have a year old male and here's info I considered correct after i researched and found a consistency with info from different sites, etc. I hope i's helpful to you!!
Colorwise- whatever you see as a juvenile will only intensify as he/she gets older and with every shed! Yes- sunlight and warmth really brings out the color- as far as feeding it something to make more color- carrots are good because of the beta-carotene, BUT you have to be careful- the vitamin (K i think) can be bad if you get too much. Be aware of pet stores that use carrots to feed their crickets (beardies absorp all of what the cricket has in it's system).