Guide to a Perfect Beardie Habitat!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stygma

Well I was thinking since there are a lot of people with LOTS of questions on how to properly set up a bearded dragon enclosure, maybe some of the more experienced members could post here and get a compendium of knowledge going for those who are less well-informed. I know things are different for every dragon, but even a baseline for new owners to go off of would be helpful. Information such as lighting, heating, and general decor could greatly help any new owners who look to this site for information.

I'm no expert, but I guess I'll start. I'll edit the first post as more people (hopefully) post!

First and foremost, one must pick an enclosure that is suitable for the dragon's size. Hatchlings may be kept in a smaller tank; somewhere along the lines of 20 Gallons, but they'll mature quickly. An adult requires a minimum of about a 50 to 55 Gallon vivarium to live comfortably but the bigger, the better!

The enclosure should be simple in design and easy to clean; there's no need for anything fancy here.

The substrate is an important part of any cage design. While the subject is hotly debated among enthusiasts, some common substrates include paper towel, non-adhesive shelf liner, floor tiles, play-sand, reptile carpet, alfalfa meal, crushed English walnut shells, and newspaper.

While all of these substrates have their ups-and-downs, the safest substrate to use, especially with a new beardie is just plain old paper towel. Please note that Calci-sand, or any other calcium-based substrate is dangerous to your dragon and could potentially cause fatal impaction. I'll leave it at that, since I'm sure some of the older members will have a lot to say on the subject.