getting ready to brumate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

salmar

my beardie is about 15 weeks old, he's perfectly healthy and lately he's been going under neath his flat log during the day and staying there for most of the day. He is eating like normal and basks for a while then goes under his log. i put him back in his basking spot but he just returns under his log after a few minutes. Is he getting ready to brumate?

duke11

Gray-bearded Member
Hi, I have a brumating dragon currently. Yours might be but it's hard to tell since he's on the younger side. Does he still have an appetite and does he nap frequently during the day? Is he acting more lazy?

newmommy

Hey,

I am going to step in and ask if mine may be doing the same thing. I have also put in a discussion under Beardie ER because I am new to this whole thing.(It was under So many issues) I didn't know it would be this hard to get everything right. I mean I know it is only a few things, but so many things have to be perfect! Anyways my beardies basking temp is about 100 with a 100 degree black bulb. He is constantly on his log right under the light. He has a good appetite, and loves to be misted. His colors are also dark when I pick him up, whatever that means. He did just recently shed some. But he is always sleeping there, and when I pick him up, he is so limp and comfortable.

Also I know I have only had him for two weeks-but can anyone tell me if it is normal for him to be looking at me as if he still does not know who I am. He also has a really blank stare to him sometimes. I once wondered was he blind--but he can find his crickets!

Buggsy

Gray-bearded Member
For the O/P : as said 15weeks is far too early to bruminate, the rule is 1yr or older, but some have been starting at 8 months. What brand of UVB are you using, and is it a ciol or a compact light? Also what are the temps of the tank and what are you measuring them with??