Food in the viv

Status
Not open for further replies.

BuddyDow

Hello,

I am a little new to this, having just got the little beardy today. Added to all the heating questions and problems that i am having at the moment (not seeming to be able to get the heat mat and bulb in the basking area to get above 77-80F) i have a question about food.

Little beardy has had some crickets today, and a very small piece of carrot. I have put some peas and brocolli in the viv, but when should i take it out if he has not nibbled on it? I am going away tomorrow and dont want to leave him in there with nasty food that he wont touch, but in the same breath i dont want to trust anyone else to feed him as they may get it wrong (I am going away tomorrow morning and wil be back on Sunday morning).

Is it ok to take the food out now, and feed him again once i get home, or should i replace the food tomorrow morning with some nice fresh veg?

I will be leaving the gas heater on tonight, as i dont think that the heat mat alone will be warm enough for him, and am worried that he will get ill (or worse) during the night.

Probably over reacting and not giving him enough credit but i adore him already and dont want to leave him when im unsure of his environment.

Thank you for any light you can shed on this

Laura

zebraflavencs

Extreme Poster
Laura, how old is this beardie ? If it is a young one, less than a year, at least two feedings a day along with the veggies are normal. As for the veggies, check out BeautifulDragons Nutritional list of safe daily(green) treats (black) and unsafe or not reccomended (yellow,red, blue). Is there not someone that could step in that you could trust to help out ?
Janie.

BuddyDow

Original Poster
The beardie is 6 weeks old, he has had about 10 small crickets today, does he need more?!

He may well have been fed in the shop today though. I have printed off that list of foods and will keep that directly above his viv.