Dubia question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiro

I figured it would be a good idea to start the colony before I get my beardie and was wondering how many I should start off with. I was looking at theroachguys starter kits w/ 180mixed or w/e the highest one was. I know itll be a few months before its ready for ''normal'' feeding but Ill only have one beardie. Shouldnt take too long for just one beardie even with them being slowish breeder.

ScooterBlenny

Hatchling Member
I'm no expert, but I suggest that you get as many as you can! I got 200 dubias from The Roach Guy about three weeks ago, and I suspect it will be many months before I start feeding my one beardie. Keep in mind that many of the dubias you get in the kit will be nymphs, and it will take months for them to mature...I'm considering ordering 200 more dubias!

A wise decision to get the dubias started before you get your beardie, I wish I had done that!

Shiro

Original Poster
Ya I figured most of them will be nymphs. That being the main reason Im starting them first. The other being Im a little strapped for cash and figured by the time I got my lil guy/gal settled in Id have a decent colony to go with.

patrickb

Juvie Member
Wise decision to start the feeder colony now rather than later, it will definitely pay for itself in no time. You would be looking at about 6-8 months or so before you could sustain a single beardie off of 180. It all depends on how quickly the nymphs you get mature into adults. You might get lucky and have quite a few adults in the first month, and you may only have one or two adults. :) If you can add on some extra adults to your order, that will help to reduce the time by about 1-2 months or so roughly. About the time your second generation matures and actually starts reproducing it should be safe to feed from the colony.

Shiro

Original Poster