Beardie and Parrot kept in the same room?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenniferr

Hi everyone, bit of a random question, I have my bearded dragon in my bedroom and he loves it here. As a student I spend so much time in my room it's where he gets to see me most, plus he basically has run of the room whenever he fancys ?
But I am now looking into buying a parrot. We have one already downstairs so ideally I would like to keep the new one upstairs as I know the parrots in the same room will stress eachother out, atleast initially anyway and I don't think it's worth it to be honest. When I bring My bearded dragon downstairs my current parrot never seems to bother him. Would it be a terrible idea to keep the parrot and bearded dragon in the same room. They would be almost opposite eachother on other sides of my room, though my bearded dragon would be able to see him. It's the only way I can figure it out at th moment without fully reorganising my room, which I am willing to do ofcourse if you guys think it won't work out.
We live near the seaside so seagulls are constantly squawking and my beardie never seems bothered by it.

Thanks for your help :)

traildrifterphalanx

Sub-Adult Member
I'm sure the general consensus is if you can avoid having them in the same room, do so, but honestly if it doesn't cause the dragon stress, I don't see it being too big of an issue unless you let the parrot fly around the room, which would likely trigger a fear response.

There are many warnings about cats and dragons in the same room due to cats killer instincts or stressing the dragon, and both my dragons are in the living room where the cat has free access. Luckily my cat is docile, and the dragons know this, so seeing her doesn't trigger fear.

I'd watch the body language of the dragon if you do decide to get a parrot, and if he shows stress, I'd recommend finding a new room for the parrot

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
Jenniferr":2wiimcuc said: