Possible New Owner with Small Children.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hemberger

Hello!! I am brand new to this forum and so far this place has been EXTREMELY helpful!! I am looking into getting a bearded dragon. My Mom was wanting to get the kids (ages 3yrs (almost 4yrs) and 18mo) a rabbit for Easter. Well doing research, it wouldn't have worked out very well. We are not able to have dogs or cats right now. I have been wanting a bearded dragon for awhile now, and thought this was the time to do it!! Trying to do all the research I can to make sure I do this right. I am a registered vet tech so I want to make sure I can completely provide for the animal before getting it. I stay home with the kids now.

Anyways, besides normal newbie questions, is there a concern with my kids? Plus trying to get pregnant now for our 3rd child. I have read some discussions on here about salmonella, and I will make sure to wash hands. But with loud noises, kids being loud, running around the house, throwing tantrums. Will that stress the bearded dragon out? Not be a good environment for them? Thinking about having the set up in the living room?

Advice on the kids handling him/her? We will probably get one from the pet store and it may be pretty little.

I REALLY want to get one, but I want to make sure I am doing the right thing for the kids and the bearded dragon.

Thank you!!

Taterbug

BD.org Addict
First, thank you for recognizing a rabbit wouldnt make a great Easter present/pet. Too many poor buns end up in shoddy lives :(

As for a beardie, they are hardy reptiles and once you have the equipment sorted they are quite easy to care for (comparatively anyway!). A dragon should be fine around kids but I would personally limit interactions with the kiddos while he dragon is little. It's just way to easy to hurt them. Most cages can be fitted with a locks.