Tell me the dirt on bearded dragons

Status
Not open for further replies.

NervousNellie

We are seriously considering adding a bearded dragon to our family. I have been doing a ton of research but am starting to feel overwhelmed. I'm trying to decide how much a bearded dragon will add to our circus enjoyment/work wise. We currently have two geatric dogs, one in kidney failure, both dogs require special food and medication. We have two awesome indoor cats. The only real outside pets we have are three chickens. We love our chickens and they are as big of pets as our indoor ones. They would like to be indoor pets. So I have a few questions about care because I have zero experience with reptiles.
I think if we do get one it will be an adult rescue from a reptile rescue.
1) I read somewhere on here that they usually have a BM once a day but here is where I start getting confused can I use a vingear soaked paper towel to just wipe it up? I saw in an article about steam cleaning? Do I have to steam clean its cage regularly or wiping with vingear good? How often do I have to clean the whole cage if I can just spot clean bms?
2)I have a 5 and 7 year old who would want to love on it as much as their schedule (school and activities) would allow, would that be a problem?
3) do they have a smell?
4) I understand an adult would need protein once a day and veggies once a day, is that right? Do I have to keep live protein (crickets) in the house? Is there a protein source that works better then crickets maybe one that can't hop away from me?
5) I saw it was best to get a fecal sample checked right off can any vet check that or just one that specializes in reptiles?
6) how much time each day/week do you spend on basic care?
7) do you think keeping cats and bearded dragons is a bad idea?
8) anything else you think I should know? I've read most the articles on this forum but it all seems overwhelming.