New owner help welcome

Instigator437

Beardie name(s)
Tokey
image.jpg

This is my current setup for young beardie. I’m going to get a tube uvb light as I’m hearing the coil uvb aren’t sufficient. Also what substrate should I use for him. Was told sand could cause problems for smaller beardies. Any tips are welcome I am fairly new to dragons but had Lep geckos.

hdochow

Sub-Adult Member
Photo Comp Winner
Beardie name(s)
Sir Henry of Scales
that uvb upgrade is critical for health and should be done as soon as possible. i use non adhesive shelf liner for substrate. super easy to keep clean.

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4
View attachment 83180
This is my current setup for young beardie. I’m going to get a tube uvb light as I’m hearing the coil uvb aren’t sufficient. Also what substrate should I use for him. Was told sand could cause problems for smaller beardies. Any tips are welcome I am fairly new to dragons but had Lep geckos.
A Zoo Med 24" fixture w/ a Reptisun 10.0 T5 bulb or a Arcadia Pro T 5 w/ a 12% bulb 24 watt found at Pet Smart - or a Sunblaster Nano Tech are good UVB's -- please let me know if you need links - please get two digital probe thermometers - the probe is the only way to get accurate surface basking temps off of hammocks

hdochow

Sub-Adult Member
Photo Comp Winner
Beardie name(s)
Sir Henry of Scales
i've got the arcadia pro T-5 12% placed inside the enclosure because i have a solid top. i use a long grape vine under it that is angled from the floor to high up on the side of the enclosure. takes the guess work out of distance placement and gives a wide range of options for him to choose from.

xp29

BD.org Addict
Photo Comp Winner
Beardie name(s)
Zen , Ruby ,Snicker Doodles, Sweet Pea, Sinatra