Jack :)

Crinkle-Cut

Beardie name(s)
Jack
Hi! I've been viewing these threads for a few years now, and finally decided to join up.

My old man, Jack, is 11 to 13 years old.

Before I post a photo, I think he needs some background because he has had one hell of a life, and he certainly looks it.

I adopted him in 2019, from a lady who was heartbroken to let him go, but simply needed to emigrate for work. I took a lot of advice from her, because she really loved him, but later learned that a lot of her care was harmful.

He had been housed together with his hatchlings for too long before she even adopted him, so was already missing some toes. He was then co-habitated with a much larger female who denied him food, leading to stunted growth and MBD that made him grew up to be quite odd looking. He also had gingivitis for many years before I got him leading to stubby little teeth, but I love him with all my heart.

His eyes seem far too big for his head, which is quite narrow. His one arm is essentially fused at the wrist, and regardless of what I feed him, he doesn't seem to fill out anywhere other than his fat sacks. He's quite a special, grumpy, old man.

I've been terrified to join and post him on this forum because of how small and odd he looks. I've also had to adopt unconventional husbandry practices to keep him healthy in his old age, because he's developed a few hangups that make traditional husbandry incredibly stressful for him.

Okay... here he is!
IMG_20210130_113955.jpg

He has had a very hard life, and I'm happy that I get to make it comfortable in his old age.

Like I said, I've been terrified to post him, so I just want to make it clear that he does have an extremely qualified vet who he sees regularly!

I'm excited to finally be a part of the forums!

Attachments

• IMG_20210219_170124.jpg
    IMG_20210219_170124.jpg
    166.5 KB · Views: 23

NickAVD

Juvie Member
Beardie name(s)
Foxy