Hi there!

Beardie name(s)
Bowser
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to owning a bearded dragon (two days new!). For about three months, I have been prepping and researching all things bearded dragon for my classroom. I am a high school art teacher. I brought my new little beardie to it's new home on Sunday afternoon (12/17). His/her first day of classes went well, and he/she seemed curious but cautious, which seems pretty normal from what I've read.
My students are very excited!

Side note: I'm a little worried as the power went out at school yesterday around 12:30. The backup power will keep the classroom at 70. We still have no power. I will search the forums for info on what to do if the power doesn't come back today. The outages are pretty extensive, so I'm getting nervous. I've lost power at home, too. He didn't eat yesterday, which I know is normal when a beardie gets used to their new home. But I'm worried about him. There is no school today, but I will go in and check on him.

mshaverly

Hatchling Member
Beardie name(s)
Vhagara
You must get him to some heat. He won't survive without heat and lighting. You need to take him to your home.

mshaverly

Hatchling Member
Beardie name(s)
Vhagara
I would not leave him at school for this very reason. Too risky. I have mine in my home and when I travel I move my whole setup to my friend's house in Henderson for her to watch while I am away.

ArtClassBeardie

Original Poster
Beardie name(s)
Bowser
Thank you, he's doing great and is at my house. Luckily, we were only a day and a half without power. He has been eating quite well and even has been nibbling on some veggies!

mshaverly

Hatchling Member
Beardie name(s)
Vhagara
Try some small dubia roaches. I like them much better as they don't bite and hop everywhere and he will love them. I also feed green hornworms for added hydration. I am trying to get mine to eat veggies. It has been a challenge. I order my bugs from dubia.com Where are you located?

ArtClassBeardie