LIZZIE HATES VEGGIES AND WATER

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayy

Hi, I have a beardie named Lizzie. She is about 5 months maybe, but she hates any sort of veggies! She won’t eat her greens, ive tried other kinds of greens but she hates them. The pet store gave them kale and spinach but she completely hates it, I could really use help with that. Also, my Lizzie hates water. She hates baths, being sprayed. I tried giving her a water bowl and one time she submerged herself in it but now she gets nowhere near it. I’m concerned that soon she won’t be healthy and I could really use some tips before she gets to that point. Thank you so much for your time!

I am new to beardies myself, but it’s my understanding that spinach isn’t good for them in more than tiny amounts (it binds to calcium and can cause issues) and that trying a variety of veggies combined with fruits they’ll love is a good way to encourage eating. Also, I’ve read that including some bright colors in there helps, like sprinkling grated carrots on top. It seems they are attracted to brightly colored foods. They also like variety and can be very picky about what veggies they eat, so keep trying! Squash and apples seem to be a fav for garnishing the top with flavor, and you may have to go through several types of greens to find their favs. Spinach isn’t a great pick, and lettuce doesn’t to have much nutritional value. You can find lists of what they can and can’t eat if you Google it.

Like I said, I’m new to beardies (snakes are much simpler when it comes to feeding!), but this is what little I’ve picked up so far!

As for the water, did she totally submerge herself? I think the water is only supposed to come up to their knees then you pour water over their backs. Also, what temp was the water? They like warm baths.

JessPets

Gray-bearded Member