Not drinking and long term effects with no uvb?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rizla

Hi there im new here and im also new to bearded dragons and have a couple of questions im hoping someone can help me with. To start with im not new to reptiles having owned many crested and leopard geckos but i recently rescued a beardie from a family who were bored with him, he is about 6-7 months old i have been told and i have done a lot of research and trying to make the best home i can for him so i went out and bought him all new bulbs, i bought the arcadia 12% bulb as i heard these were great and here is the problem, he wasnt very active when we got him and when renoving his bulb i noticed it was a komodo 5.0 bulb which i am sure is not good enough for a beardie i was also told he has had this bulb since the previous owners got him after replacing to the arcadia he picked up loads and became much more active hes also basking a lot more now his temps have been corrected and looks healthy but he looks small for his age at about 11inched long is there any health issues with have the wrong bulb for 6 months or so like stunted growth etc? He also doesnt drink water or atleast ive never seen him drink water, he gets bathed a few times a week he wont drink in the bath and doesnt seem dehydrated is this an issue as i have heard they get enough fluid through fresh food although he will not eat any greens and i have tried everything to get him to eat them but the previous owners had never offered him greens, but i do gut load all his live foods with fresh greens and veg everyday and he is eating live food with no problems and doing regular poos every other day. He is very friendly and seems overall healthy his basking temps are around 105 using a 75w bulb and his cool side is fine also. Any advice would be great as im a little concerned he hasnt drank for about a month, thank you.

Bear333

Hi there!