New beardie owner in need of assistance!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guysss, so I’m new to the Beardie world and so far I’m enjoying the different behavior of this creature!! I have a 4 month old bearded dragon I named her Drica. I became interested in them when I was on a social media app and came across a beautiful yellow bearded dragon with German giant diseased name Margo and completely fell in love and had to have one of my own..I purchased her from petco...I did a lot of research before purchasing and still doing some now I’m trying to get the hang of the whole lizard mom thing but I’m concerned because she’s so skiddish everytime we go to pick her up she runs way and scratches at the glass but it seems she’s just a tad bit more calm with me than she is with my boyfriend...sometimes she’ll take worms out of his hands but majority of the time she’ll run away once he puts his hand in to feed her...I’m trying to get her more comfortable with us by talking to her and petting her as well as making a little play pin on the bead and let her run around a little bit...I’m not sure what to do anymore when it comes to trying to bond with her because she just seems so frightened one time she jumped out my hands and on the curtainnn it was the craziest but the funniest thing to me! I really need some pointers on what to do when it comes to bonding with her and making her more comfortable because I don’t want her to be scared of us for forever I want to be able to cuddle with her like other owners do with their beardies. I know it takes time but how long does it usually take? Will she ever stop being so scared of us? What can I do I feel stuck..

KarrieRee

BD.org Sicko
Beardie name(s)
Hiccup he is 6 and Blaze is 4