adopted beardie with agression question

Status
Not open for further replies.

BRIDGET1513

Hello I am new to caring for a bearded dragon. I adopted a 5 to 6 month old bd (not sure of his age, his body is about as big as my hand). He/she has bit me twice (not sure of the sex). I have had em for 4 days now and he let me hold him 3 times but the last time he hunkered down in my hand and nudged it a few times with his head and then bit me, no warning, puffing or anything....it was shocking more than anything. My kids are scared to pick him up and I am scared that he will always act this way. The day before he let me handle him for about 30 mins in one setting then 30 min before I went to sleep, was good not aggression and almost fell asleep in my lap. the next day however he acted like he didn't know me and hissed at my daughter. please help I am a single mom who works a lot so the only interaction is a few min in the morning and mostly in the evening when we all get home.

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
Were you handling food before you got the little beardie out ?

Very hungry / food orientated lizards who smell / taste food on hands / fingers will try to eat the finger / hand …. especially if they are not used to being hand feed or handled.

I'm sure it wasn't aggression on the dragon's behalf, but confusion.

I have been hand feeding wild and captive bred pet skinks and dragons a long time (since retiring , and we discovered each other) , and yes I've been bitten many times, always by accident , sometimes through lizard confuse (ie wild skink smells food on by hand and thinks my finger / hand is the food).

The solutions are :
>>>> adopt a set routine feeding time , and if you are going to food by hand (that's OK) expect some accidential nips at the start while you and beardie learn and get a handle on the method),
>>>> no grabbing (especially squeezing the dragon) this will hurt the dragon and it will respond with a bite if it can't get away