2 Questions: Activity and Closed Eyes

Status
Not open for further replies.

redwood

Hi there! I got my very own beardie about two weeks ago and I'm still learning the ropes. Jupie is a young male somewhere between 1 and 2 years old, super friendly and patient and 10/10 in the sassy looks department. Now that he's gotten more settled, he's been pretty active and wants to run around and explore quite a bit. I've been thinking of getting him some sort of leash and harness ensemble so I can take him out more, are there any commercially available/has anyone had any success in making one? Also, what are some other forms of enrichment I could provide for him, like good toys or games?

One other thing I've been wondering about is his habit of closing his eye/s while being pet. I'm tempted to interpret it as a sign he's comfortable with being touched, but that might be a mammalian view of a reptile behavior. Does anyone know what this might mean?

here is a photo for good measure:
94195-1576743159.jpg

SHBailey

Gray-bearded Member
Welcome to the wonderful world of bearded dragons. :D

It looks and sounds like you've got yourself a wonderful new friend, and yes, they are famous for giving you "The Look".

There is some debate over what it means when they close their eyes -- sometimes they're just falling asleep. It has been said that the best way to tell if they're happy and comfortable is by their color and their breathing -- they will turn a lighter color and their breathing will be relaxed.

We haven't tried putting a leash on our beardie. Here in Alaska, there aren't very many days out of the year that are warm enough to take him outside anyway. But there are others on this forum who have tried it and should be able to tell you what has worked for them. Enrichment has also been discussed here before, but it will be interesting to see what kind of current opinions you get about that.