Vet Said my Beardie may have impaction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mrsfransen

Hi. We got Norman about two months ago, and he hasn't eaten a ton since we got him, but every few days and had a normal bm after eating. Now he hasn't eaten in a few weeks much more than a pellet or two. I called a vet today and he is concerned that there might be impaction and it might be too late to do anything.

I pushed water today during Norman's bath, but no poo yet!

I currently have parakeet seed substrate (per the person we got him from), which I plan on changing out tomorrow for just newspaper, but is there anything else I can do in the mean time? I am very new to reptiles and I clearly have a lot to learn, but I will just die if we lose him. We were given him by a former student of mine that enlisted in the Marines.

Thank you for the advice!

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
It's good that you are switching to a solid substrate. Did you offer large bugs? Those can cause impaction if the dragon is young. How old is Norman? Did the vet take an x-ray to see any blockage?

If he is an adult and acting sleepy he may just be slowing his metabolism for brumation which a lot of them are starting to do now. If he's young, this is less likely.

Your best bet with impaction is to offer water in small batches several times during the day by dripping it on his nose and trying to get him to lick it up. You can also offer a few small drops of olive oil as well as baby food prunes, applesauce, or pumpkin to provide some fiber and help move things along. Just offer little bits so not to wind up adding to the blockage. Hopefully he will be able to pass everything soon and bounce back.

Mrsfransen

Original Poster