Cocidia and giardia in baby beardie an not getting better

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tmorrow84

Hello my names Tiffany and I'm brand new to the bearded dragon org. I sought you out bc our baby beardie Shadow is really sick, he's about 3-4 months old weighs 14g An is about 5in long. So he was bought from a petsmart on dec 31st and seemed to be in perfect health he was eating very well 10-15 crickets a day approved fruits An veggies. By January 20th he began to show signs of not feeling well within one week he quit eating an at that point we took him to see a local vet who treats exotics. Where they diagnosed him with cocidia and giardia, an was prescribed Albon as his antibiotics and panacur for the worms. Dosing was albon 0.02cc for 5 days an then every other day for 5 days. And the panacur was 0.01cc for 5 days An again for 5 days in 3 weeks. So his first 5 doses of albon were really hard to give being that it was such a small amount An couldn't even by pushed through the syringe so I'm not sure If he got too much of it or not. After days 5 on albon An seeing results, he was up An moving around. But In that time period I discovered albons really harsh on there little tummies so I saw some folks on here had luck with bug de lites acidophiliz probiotic formula and they had toltrazuril so I stopped the albon until the probiotics came in bc his doing good phase last maybe 3-4 days. His probiotics came an he was doing worse at this point so I stated his albon again for 4 days in accompany with his probiotics. At first I didn't know to give the meds in the am An the probiotics 3 hours before bedtime. So maybe that's why he's not doing better. I then got in his new antibiotics An took him back to the vets with his new antibiotics An the supplements I received from bug de lites- spurlina, electrovites, bee pollen and powder form of probiotics. Showed the vet everything I've done, everything I have An asked what to use to help him. She said to go ahead An give h