First Time Bearded Dragon Owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

KirstynMichelle

Hello everyone!

My name is Kirstyn. I am a first time bearded dragon owner. I've fallen in love with bearded dragons after my friend got one and just knew it would be the pet for me. After loads of research, I order from a breeder (FireandIceDragons); my little guy is a mix between a super citrus dragon and an ice dragon. I'm so pumped to receive the guy in about a month, due to him just hatching on March 1st. I have been researching for almost two months over bearded dragons because I didn't want to make an impulse buy; I wanted to be experienced and informed before getting a dragon. Anyways, I'm so nervous for my dragon to arrive. I was wondering from you guys if there was anything you wish you would have researched more before you got your bearded dragon, or any advice on anything that you've learned from the experience of having dragons.
Thank you everyone! Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated because I believe you can't learn EVERYTHING from a book.

-Kirstyn

traildrifterphalanx

Sub-Adult Member
Greetings and welcome to the world of dragons!
Be sure to post pictures of your new little bebe once s/he arrives!

Hands down. UVB.
While I didn't have any issues with MBD personally, I used a coil bulb until December of last year. I blame my lack of research on a UVB why the growth of my girl Simon is stunted. She is nearing 2yrs old and is only 16.5", she's never had a great appetite.

I am learning with my new addition, Richter, that adequate UVB makes a huge difference. Going from a dragon raised with a 26w coil bulb to Reptisun T8 10.0 has made my youngest an eating machine. Many other things could affect appetite (heat, feeders, variety) but I think improper UVB was my biggest mistake.

CaramelBeet

Hatchling Member