UVB light fixture for inside a large tank

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dotty21690

I’m a newbie and just moved my little guy to a large 55 gallon tank (~2ft high..maybe 21” not sure). But what kind of fixture should I use? I’ve red on Jess’s post that regular coil/compact bulbs are bad and should use a tube lighting. But with it being 48” long, not sure what kind to get. Help!!

QuinnF

Hatchling Member
I believe they sell 48” reptisun uvb bulbs. Not sure about Arcadia. For a beardie you will want a 10.0 uvb tuve light. T5 vs t8 refers to the size of the prongs you plug into the fixture. I recommend looking for a 48” reptisun uvb light on amazon and then buying an appropriate fixture

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
Arcadia have a reflector hood product called a SLIMLINE LUMINAIRE that is designed to mount inside a tank (attached to the ceiling with screws if the ceiling is timber) , these come in a range of lengths (I suggest you get a hood that is NO MORE THAN 2/3 the length of the tank (so no more than 3ft long in your case).
These Arcadia luminaires come with either a T5ho 6% UVB tube , or a T5ho 12% UVB tube , or a T5ho 14% UVB tube in the price already installed , so it's essentially plug-n-play.

This will help work out the strength T5ho tube you need for your setup based on distance to the basking spot : viewtopic.php?f=34&t=235611

If your lid is a mesh lid , mounting under the mesh lid is simplicity itself, all you need is two nylon cable ties of appropriate length to essentially form a loop around the hood , one at each end.

Dotty21690

Original Poster
kingofnobbys":21w6vm9s said:
Arcadia have a reflector hood product called a SLIMLINE LUMINAIRE that is designed to mount inside a tank (attached to the ceiling with screws if the ceiling is timber) , these come in a range of lengths (I suggest you get a hood that is NO MORE THAN 2/3 the length of the tank (so no more than 3ft long in your case).