Lets beat the dead horse some more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

xXxZeusxXx

Let's beat the dead horse some more.

Why? Because it's important. I'm new to this too and I just today experienced first hand how off temperatures from a guage style thermometer can be. If you take one thing from this post, make it this; Buy the digital probe thermometer or infared temp gun BEFORE the dragon.

I currently have a ten gallon tank (I know it's not going to last long, granted he starts eating more) setup pretty close to the picture, only the guage was moved directly above the basking spot, the food bowl moved to the front right corner, and theres a greens dish in the right back.

2wnsghe.jpg

I was originally running a 50 watt with no UVB and undertank heating pad and the temp on the basking spot ran only about 80 degrees according to the guage. I went and picked up a 100 watt basking bulb and a 18" Repti Glo 10.0 UVB, ditched the under tank heater, and the gauge read around 90. I couldn't believe this big bulb and UVB couldn't heat up a ten gallon tank. After reading how inaccurate these gauges can be, I ordered a Zoo Med Mini Infared Gun last friday from Petco (http://www.petco.com/product/115362/Zoo-Med-Repti-Temp-Digital-Infrared-Thermometer.aspx?CoreCat=certona-_-ProductListTopRated_Reptile_4-_-Zoo%20Med%20Repti%20Temp%20Digital%20Infrared%20Thermometer-115362).

The gun came today and I was shocked at the results. The spot directly below (almost touching) the gauge on the basking spot read a BLAZING 138 DEGREES! The temperature gauge was off nearly 40 degrees!