Taking Bearded Dragons Out to Places

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scoutix

Hello, I am a little new to owning a bearded dragon and I was wondering if anyone on here has tried taking their beardies out to places in public. I know my pet stores will allow him, but I'm not sure about places like the library, Barnes and Noble, Walmart, Target, and those kinds of places. Would he be okay there as long as he is always with me? I really want to bring him with me to places to get him more socialized with people and to give him some freedom outside of his cage and our house. Any help, information, and/or tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
My advise (and practice here in Australia) is that this is not a good idea, it's way too risky and stressful to the dragon.

The dragon is not a cat or a dog and so wont enjoy this kind of socialization , and if it gets a fright it can easily get lost or hurt (by people or other peoples' pets). Best to leave the dragon home.

Scoutix

Original Poster
Hello, I have a bearded dragon that's just a baby. He's about 3 weeks old and he is very fast! I just wanted to know when I can take him out of his cage. I dont want him to run away or anything where I cant get him back. I have tried to hold him in my hands with him still being in the cage and he seems calm and he doesn't move much. I plan on doing this every day to get him used to me and make him more calm with people. I really want to take him out of his cage for a little bit every day since I dont want him caged up 24 hours a day. Does anyone on here have any tips or information about when I can do this? I have him in my room and it's pretty small so he cant go far if he does escape from where I put him but I dont want to scare him by trying to chase him around the room to put him back. Thanks!

Gormagon

Extreme Poster
Just a bit of friendly advice.