Which vitamin - Herptivite or Reptivite - ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

trickyspark

Hatchling Member
The title says it all. I'm wanting to get a good vitamin for my dragon, and I seem to only really find two.

Herptivite seems to have phosphorous and Reptivite seems to have Vitamin A instead of beta carotine. I hear you want to avoid Vitamin A in favor of betacarotine, and I also hear you want to avoid phosphorous (aka stuff in fireflies that kills dragons).

Herptivite also says mix with Rep-Cal (the pellet food? mine won't eat any pellets, although I do have some Rep-Cal).

So which do I choose?

Thanks for any advice.

FranktheTank

Gray-bearded Member
I'm not an expert and I don't have any scientific reason why, but I use the Herptivite for my beardies. They are both healthy and I believe they're doing just fine with it.

-Kaleen

SuzukiRider

Hatchling Member
Here's a little write up on Reptivite from Big Al's online. This will be what I'll be ordering.

Product Details
Zoo Med's ReptiVite with D3 is a complete vitamin, mineral, and amino acid complex specifically formulated for reptiles. ReptiVite is calcium based to ensure healthy bone growth with the correct 2:1 calcium to phosphorus ratio. Originally developed for the San Diego Zoo to correct soft-shell problems in turtles, it is now used by some of the most respected zoos and animal parks throughout the world. The first reptile vitamin to include the complete amino acid complex, an essential component in protein digestion. ReptiVite does not contain artificial additives or fillers like soy, yeast, or sucrose. Use 2-3 times weekly on your reptiles food. Made in the U.S.A.

laservet