What is this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grixxly15

Gray-bearded Member
I was giving Hunter a bath today and he had his mouth open. I've seen this before and wondered what it is but today I feel like finding out. Right below his tongue there is this weird almost tube like thing that had an opening. I could see it kind of contracting kind of like it was opening and closing. My guess is that this is the gland that produces the sticky substance in their mouths but I just want to make sure. :study:

herpfreak

Gray-bearded Member
That would be the trachea. I don't know the first thing about beardie mouth anatomy, but I'm a pro with snake mouth anatomy, due to giving a large ball python meds on multiple occasions. :shock: Not a fun ordeal, but anyways, the tube-like thing you described is the trachea; the organ that brings oxygen to the lungs / excretes CO2. :D

Grixxly15

Gray-bearded Member
Original Poster
herpfreak":c9ac3 said:
That would be the trachea. I don't know the first thing about beardie mouth anatomy, but I'm a pro with snake mouth anatomy, due to giving a large ball python meds on multiple occasions. :shock: Not a fun ordeal, but anyways, the tube-like thing you described is the trachea; the organ that brings oxygen to the lungs / excretes CO2. :D

So they don't breathe like we do though down the throat? Makes sense when consuming larger pray.

herpfreak

Gray-bearded Member
Yep. They breathe the same way we do, it's just that their trachea and esophagus ("food tube") are in different places, ours are right next to each other.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Members online

Latest resources

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Any thoughts an knowledge will be helpful. Thank u