TOO MUCH UVB??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Irwinshealth

Sub-Adult Member
We have a bit of a problem in my home today. I purchased a Chinese Water dragon for my son and switched my bearded dragon into his new large viv. Problem is the new bulb was 24 inches not the 36 I needed. How long can he wait??? Also my UVB is a 10.0 and now I'm hearing that a 5.0 may be needed for the CWD?! :banghead: Can someone please tell me if this is correct because I assure you the pet store knew nothing of worth. I don't want any harm to come to either pet because I messed up. Thanks

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Your dragon will be fine with the 24 inch bulb don't worry about it.

As for the CWD, I have no clue I have no experience with them..

-Brandon

Irwinshealth

Sub-Adult Member
Original Poster
Brandon,
I guess I should have explained better the set up for the light is 36 so the 24in wont fit and I have to wait for the next shipment. How dangerous is this for them. The stores here only carry reptiglo, YUCK !!! I'm so mad at myself right now :banghead:
Thanks a bunch

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Oh I see now.

How long has your dragon been without UVB and how much longer will he be without?

-Brandon

dangit12

Juvie Member
you know he doesnt need heat from a UVB. He could get heat outside or heat from a object. i think theres a post here that says that when your powers down or something you can get a sock full of rice and microwave or something. im not positive though on it.

Irwinshealth

Sub-Adult Member
Original Poster
They have only been without today but the shipment should come by Friday. It this too long? Should I get a reptiglo to hold them over. It just scares me to buy a different bulb after hearing how bad some are.

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
No that is not long at all!

Don't sweat it.

And definitely don't waste money on a bulb that could harm your dragons.

-Brandon

Irwinshealth

Sub-Adult Member
Original Poster