Shedding

Status
Not open for further replies.

dangit12

Juvie Member
how long does it take for a baby bearded dragon to shed? i had fowlcore for about 2 months and he hasnt been shedding.

StaceysBuddy

Juvie Member
I'm not much help but my beardie as a baby shedded constantly. I'm sure someone will reply with a brainiac answer =] They usually do.

I would just make sure you have all your lights set up good, and temps. That's what I've read about it. But I'm no expert. :S

Is he even white? Or about to shed?

dangit12

Juvie Member
Original Poster
i think he is close to shedding. i saw on fowlcore that there is a split in the skin. Not a split in the skin where hes bleeding. it a split in the skin and within the split there is another skin. So i think he is starting to shed.

StaceysBuddy

Juvie Member
A split? Do you have a picture?
If he is shedding, giving him a bath should help.
When Buddy sheds, it turns pale, then ghostly white, then WHITE, then clear, and boom! It starts cracking and peeling.

I don't know if you can see it or not but he was about to shed in this photo, his tail shedded but not the rest of him.
Buddy1111y.jpg

Nuka042

Hatchling Member
^ Agreed, giving a bath really helps when your beardie is in shed.

I wish I could give you that scientific answer you are looking for, but like humans who grow at different rates, beardies shed at different rates. I know when they're younger, they tend to shed a lot as they are growing a lot and the shedding tends to slow down as the reach adulthood. Just remember to not rip off the shedding as it tends to be painful for the beardies and you run the risk of damaging the scales.

Nuka042

Hatchling Member
That looks like shed alright! What I find to help my dragon during shedding (since the tail can be hard for them to shed sometimes) was to gently brush over his tail during bath time with an old soft tooth brush.

dangit12

Juvie Member
Original Poster