Pack a Punch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snarf

Hatchling Member
...not the Call of Duty version. Just wondering, the best way to tackle Eddie Lizards underweight problem.

He was in bad condition when I got him and long, loooooonnnnngggggg story short (I don't want to bore you all) I've finally got him onto a point of being stable and happy to eat fully/properly. Now he's an adult now but I still feed him right now as if he were a juvenile because of his lack of weight and I do want ideas on how to really bring him up to health.

Currently:-

Fed a mix, right now on curly kale, butternut squash, cress, parsnip and hibiscus
also fed crickets (offered twice a day) and given around maybe 10 morio worms every other day

But I'm not good with the working out what foods will best give what weight gain and the like so wondered what anyone else might recommend and tips on pushing him up. Even though I try to vary his diet he can be quite stubborn in trying new things (the waxworms were just a disaster!).

I was thinking of introducing some dubai roaches as I'm sure I saw on here they have 2x the nutritional boost than crickets and wondering what else?

bdalton

Sub-Adult Member
Dubia would be good, they have more protein than crickets, and hornworms may help since eating one full grown equals to about 30 crickets. I have heard butterworms are higher in fat so they can help too.
Mine go crazy for hornworms and dubias. They make products to help put weight on too, jump start is a caloric "appetite booster", same as Repta boost critical care (formerly ReptaAid, not to be confused with Reptaid). I used Reptaid and made my girls appetite double in 2 days.

Snarf

Hatchling Member
Original Poster
Thank you very much for the ideas. Funnily enough after posting this I had seen on the feeding section, about hornworms but a quick google search it's looking dead in the water to get to Scotland.