Lost a claw

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spider8ait1994

Hatchling Member
My eldest bearded dragon has lost a claw on one foot entirely. I just noticed it today and cannot recall whether he had the claw yesterday or not. I have retraced where he has been today and did not find the claw at all.
He doesn’t seem to be too bothered by it and didn’t seem to be in pain when I was examining it so I have applied some watered down betadine and a makeshift bandage I made from gauze and plaster tape. I’ve attached some images of the injury I took with a macro lens as well a photo of the bandage.
The claw in question was always damaged from well before I got him and was a yellowish color with no black bit in it and didn’t seem to grow at any noticeable rate. This is my first time encountering a claw loss and I would appreciate any advice.
He’s healthy and is eating and basking as normal and walking just fine. His younger brother (house separately in a different room) Has a vets checkup next week so I am planning on showing the vet the photos.
Mainly I just want to know if this is a normal thing that can happen with a damaged claw over time and if there’s anything else I should be doing aside from applying antiseptic, keeping it clean and keeping an eye on him?
EDIT: That hole in his toe has always been there since before I got him and a previous vet he visited checked it out and told me that there wasn’t any problem with it and that it was likely the result of an old injury.
101939-8624275070.jpg
101939-7968158549.jpg
101939-8294431348.jpg
101939-4969129558.jpg

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member