is she gravid and ready to lay ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

zoemay

i recently bought an approximately 8 month old red flame female beardie, i am unsure as to weather she was previously with a male but she is exceptionally rounded in my opinion although i can see any apperance of eggs in her stomach...... she has still been eating small amounts of veg but no live food and now today she has started to get very frantic around her viv and has now started digging in various corners :?

she does live with a 7 month old male beardie and although they have been doing all the mating business there has been no deffinate mating occured and they havnt been together long enough for her to be gravid by him...

can someone advice me as to weather she could be gravid and weather this behaviour is normal or she likely to want to lay now ??

kcarello

Gray-bearded Member
I'm new to this egg laying stuff myself, but I think you should get her a lay box and put her in it and see what happens.

zoemay

Original Poster
Well I have placed a tray full of sand into her viv and 3days later she is still running round frantically and digging all over the place........ Although now it is much more obvious that there ARE eggs inside her belly :eek:

zoemay

Original Poster
hmmmm :? still no eggs !! i've now just placed a pile full of sand into the corner of her viv. should i be getting worrid now as its nearly been 4 days since she started digging and now she doesnt seem as eger anymore although she feels and looks full :roll:

zoemay

Original Poster
okay i take back the qoute that she was seeming less egar as she has now started running around again and dancing in the glass and digging (but not in the pile of sand) :?:

kcarello

Gray-bearded Member