In love with our new BD, but...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello! I am new to the world of Bearded Dragons. My boyfriend and I got one about 2 weeks ago for free from a friend who couldn't care for him(?) any more. His name is Draco Phoenix. We couldn't decide on the two names, so he got both. If he turns out to be a girl, we'll change it to just Phoenix.
My boyfriend has owned 2 bearded dragons before, the first was healthy and lived a normal life, but the second was starved to death, so it's hard for me to believe that he really knows everything about the little guys. Draco Phoenix is about 10 inches long, and about 6 or 7 months old. He's in a 10 gallon tank right now with a mixture of calcisand and vita-sand. We're getting a new 20-gallon tank as soon as we can afford one. I'd post a picture, but I don't know how.
Anywho, we love him to death, but I'm too terrified to pick him up. He's really fast and very friendly. The only time he's ever gotten angry was when my boyfriend decided to mess with him while he was sleeping (not smart, but Draco Phoenix fell down from sleeping vertically, and he was just checking to see if he was ok). He loves being misted, but we've never tried to give him a bath. My boyfriend will pick him up no problem, but he works more than I do, so I'm usually the only one home with him. I feel bad all the time, cause I'll look at him, and he'll make faces at me and stuff, but I'm too scared I'll hurt him, or he'll run away, and I'll lose him. Does anybody know how I can get over my fear?

fez09

Extreme Poster
You know the old saying "practice makes perfect!"