Anyone near Vacaville, Ca? he found a home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bwalter

Sub-Adult Member
Not my ad, but if anyone can help out. I would but I don't have any more room or money for a vet for him. Let me know and I can give you the phone number for it.

Free bearded dragon and cage (Vacaville)
Free to good home. Experience preferred. 5 year old male bearded dragon, with a big tank with sliding screen lid, lockable. Comes with everything. Needs replacement UVB and heat bulbs. Also has good heat mat.

I got this beardie today, without seeing him first and inaccurate information on his current condition and health. I have no experience with bearded dragons, and now, will not be able to keep him due to my living situation, which changed immediately once I brought him home.

I was told he was coming out of burmation. But I don't know if that is true or he was incorrectly cared for. He is acting as if he has calcium deficiency. His front arms are weak, and he doesn't move his back legs. He also seems a little underweight. But I don't know what is normal for him or beardies in general.

He shows interest in food, and ate several crickets today, and lettuce and strawberries. So, that is a good sign. He did have to be hand fed the crickets though.

Since he can't move his back legs right now, to walk, he cannot catch his food and I'm concerned how well he could drink water.

I've talked with an animal expert, but only one. The suggestions are to give him proper lighting and heat, proper food, with calcium dust and vitamin D, and give him a week or so to see how he does and if he really is in burmation or has a calcium deficiency or maybe both.

I'm willing to do this, and nurse him back to health, but I'm currently staying the summer with my parents, and they do not want this beautiful lizard and his large cage in their house. I didn't think it would be an issue, but it is.