Alfalfa as a staple veggie? Questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tyryce

Hatchling Member
I have seen on a website that Alfalfa was recommended as a good staple for the veggie part of the diet. I can only get fresh Alfalfa in the spring and summer. I can however get Organic certified Alfalfa pellets at this time of the year and mixed with some water would this provide some good nutrition in the veggie diet.

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this or has added Alfalfa to their beardies diet. I had thought that Alfalfa was always high in Nitrogen...I know Alfalfa is rich and I think when feeding it to cattle it has to be in moderation (but I am no expert on that). Any comments?

Paradon

Sub-Adult Member
I used to buy the dried alfalfa pellets for rabbits for my iguana, but he never ate much of it so I stopped giving it to him. Yes, you can use the dry one. I added a little fruit juice to it so it taste better.

neecie

Juvie Member
I've been thinking of growing alfalfa in a few pots - but the only place I've found to buy the seeds is online for minimum 7 lbs..............they assume folks have land to plant in a field. I do know the alfalfa sprouts are NOT recommended for beardies - too bad huh, that would be handy for both of us.

tyryce

Hatchling Member
Original Poster
Neecie,