Water Bowl or no Water Bowl?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just wondering im trying to do as much research as i can since im new to beardys,

but im kinda confused..
some websites say to keep a water bowl in there enclosure,
but others say its better to not, because it can give them respiratory infections or something/ raise the humidity, & they wont drink from it anyway? & as long as they have baths around every other day theyl be fine?

which is true?
i have 3 babies, and they get a bath almost every morning/other morning. but im still confused if i should put a water bowl in there enclosure.
but i just want the best for them.

thanks in advance! :)

RolandKyramere

Sub-Adult Member
Personally, I don't keep a water bowl in with my beardie. It can raise the humidity, and desert creatures are a lot more sensitive to humidity levels than we are. Also, you have it phrased like you have all 3 of your beardies housed together. You'll probably want to separate them sooner than later, you'll run into issues of dominance soon.

tayyyyface

Original Poster
RolandKyramere":1cvd5180 said:
Personally, I don't keep a water bowl in with my beardie. It can raise the humidity, and desert creatures are a lot more sensitive to humidity levels than we are. Also, you have it phrased like you have all 3 of your beardies housed together. You'll probably want to separate them sooner than later, you'll run into issues of dominance soon.

As of right now there all together in a 75 gallon long breeder tank.
& were currently building another tank for the 2 girls. ,
their not crammed or anything though, as there all only about 8inches long.

i also read that they liked to be misted?, cuz ive never seen them drink from their baths either.

RolandKyramere

Sub-Adult Member
I mist mine outside of their enclosures, when I rescued a little beardie (5 inches) that was about the best way I could find to get him to drink.