Working on a Dubia How-To guide

Status
Not open for further replies.

jducky18

Hatchling Member
Hello All,

I started work on a How-To guide for breeding Dubia roaches as an all-in-one guide for beginners. I am still new at this myself, so please feel free to comment and correct anything as well as adding information you think would be important. Anything with a * is information I either don't have yet or I'm not 100% sure of. I literally just started, so I don't have tons of information yet, but here's what I have so far:

Blaptica dubia: also known as Orange-spotted Cockroach or Guyana Spotted Cockroach, is a medium/large species of cockroach, measuring about 4.5 cm (1.8 in) long.

Why Dubia roaches?
Meat-to-shell ratio*
Fat content*
They can't climb smooth surfaces like glass or plastic
They can't fly or jump, so escapes are far less common than crickets
They don't chirp or make noise
Relatively no smell (especially in comparison to crickets)
Easy to care for/maintain

How do I start?
Materials:
Rubbermaid or Sterilite type bin with a square cut from the lid and wire screen glued in place (for ventilation)
Egg Crates (orders are available online, or check local grocery stores or bakeries BUT be very careful that those do not contain any formaldehyde or other chemicals!)
Food and Water Crystal dishes (food container lids are acceptable, just ensure that the very tiny nymphs can get in and out)
Heating Source – UTH (for glass enclosures only please!) Heat tape is an option, Best option is a human pad WITHOUT auto-shut-off (*Include photo: http://www.amazon.com/Sunbeam-756-500-Heating-Pad-UltraHeatTechnology/dp/B00006IV4N)
Probe thermometer (*include photo: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Acu-Rite-Indoor-Outdoor-Thermometer/896347)
Proper breeding temperatures should be 85-90 d.F. or 30-32 d.C. (check temps by sticking the thermometer INTO the egg crates for most accurate temp)

I’ve got all that, now where can I get the bugs?